Quatuor Impact – Les Automates de Descartes

Ifrågasätter verkligheten.

Through the bodies of four musician-machines, the Descartes’ Automatons performance invites the audience to question the reality of what we see and what we hear. Playing with sonic and visual illusions, IMPACT Quartet challenges traditional relationships between sound and gesture, human and machine, musicians’ bodies and the space they inhabit.

The program is composed of six works for string quartet, including two world premieres. Each work incorporates elements of choreographed movement, stage directions, or sonic theatre. The musicians perform with their instruments, move, dance, utilizing pedals, neon lights, iPhones, and live electronics.

“What do I see from this window, if not hats and coats, which could cover phantoms or pretend men who move by springs? But I judge that they are real men, and thus I understand that what I thought to see through my eyes comes uniquely through the sole faculty to judge, which resides in my mind.”
Méditations métaphysiques by René Descartes.

Impact are:
Szuhwa WU – Violon Irène LECOQ – Violon Julia ROBERT – Alto Anaïs MOREAU – Cello


Alessandro Perini Les Automates de Descartes
Alexandros Markéas Obsessions
Simon Steen-Andersen Study for String Instrument #1
Natacha Diels Nightmare for Jack
Simon Løffler B

In collaboration with Musik i Syd